The Testimony

Print!
I am a Muslim
We don’t look the same
I take pride in Mary’s veil
So I leave you to guess
The colour of my hair
And work out the
Shade of my eyes
And the line my lips
keep reciting
Is what affirms my faith
Hargesia gave birth to me and
A call to prayer on my ears was declared!
And since then my heart
my living and my dying
Testify to this call
You see!
I am a name on a scale!

________________________

Inspired by Mahmoud Darwish Identity Card poem

About Samra

Poet and fundraiser for humanitarian causes. Lives in London
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Testimony

  1. coconutspeak says:

    This Christian poet wishes to extend her hand in friendship to you. I believe we are sisters in the eyes of God. Your words honor me. Would love your opinion on my works @
    http://​medicatedwordzallowed​.wordpress.com
    http://​coconutspeak.wordpres​s.com

  2. Samra says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog and welcome to a world where words connect us

  3. yepirategunn says:

    I lived in Muslem lands for 17 years sister. Wonderful poetry here, just wonderful.

  4. Samra says:

    You are truly blessed to have lived in Muslim lands. Thank you for your kind words.

Leave a Reply

