Flowers

I am Somalia

I am Mogadishu

I am Beled Xaawo

I am Afmadow

I am every god-damn city scarred by drought.

Yesterday I buried flowers that longed to blossom and one that anguished with heart breaks!

And on this fine day where the sun hides no tear I bury a civilisation of hopeful intellects.

I see souls that carry faith and patience, overlook crammed camps as they pray for a better tomorrow.

The earth weeps for it can’t hug no more! Begging them please hopeful remain; your call will be answered.

Mother, hold on, shut your eyes, it wasn’t meant to be like this. The order of grief lost its balance.

I’m sorry to hear

Cabdullaahi

Mahad

Axmed

Suhuur

Faarax

Caa’isha

Faadumo

Nimco

Ayaan

and Maxamed in their thousands had to die this way.

Our last breath lacked saliva, wet throat; our judgment call was over in mere seconds

Oh come on, we heard your promises before.

Didn’t you pledge in exchange for my prayers

I did recite that prayer, prayed that I grow inside you, so humanity prevail.

I urge for the blessing of the sky to reside here.

The news of it arrival is longed for, break this silence, with sigh I utter the word rain

Patiently we stand in hope to win, so smile and rest; a heart shouldn’t fear His test.

 

_____________

2011

About Samra

Poet and fundraiser for humanitarian causes. Lives in London
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Flowers

  1. fstopfun says:

    I really love how passionate your words are expressed. I like how you talk of trail and of victory : )

  2. Wonderful poem.awesome thoughts.Thank you for visiting my site.Peace and blessing.Jalal

  3. Samra says:

    Thank you both. I appreciate your comments so much and I look forward to your future visit and comments

  4. yepirategunn says:

    passionate…….powerful

Leave a Reply

