Games of thrones

Georgian Houses in
Church Street stand
Still facing the Thames
Their eyes blink rain

Beneath this river
lies secret of the
Past,orphaned flowers
By games of thrones

Tourist snapping away
Ancient cemetery and
ruby water weeps
For the missed souls

And there I was a
Foreign tongue sailing
The peaceful breeze that
Calm my nomadic self

20140512-191908.jpg

20140512-191925.jpg

20140512-191942.jpg

About Samra

Poet and fundraiser for humanitarian causes. Lives in London
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Games of thrones

  1. iithinks says:

    Beautiful! Keep up the writing!

  2. Rivera says:

    Very, very nice.. indeed..!! 🙂

    • Samra says:

      Oh your comments always make me smile. What is it about this poem you find nice?

      • Rivera says:

        I find your poem (my humble opinion) very thought provoking, and does awaken emotions. Being both tranquil, and a bit mysterious. It also (I think) refers to it’s history, (John Burns once said the river was “Liquid History”), and (if I’m not mistaken) is a bit autobiographical.
        But.. that’s just my humble opinion. The conclusion is… Very, Very nice.. Indeed..!! 🙂

  3. Samra says:

    Thank you for your comments, recently when I went to the Thames felt so strange. I’m standing in front of a river that witnessed bloodshed etc and now it’s silence stem peace.

  4. Pingback: Games of thrones | Kawaal

  5. Pingback: Games of thrones - Kawaal

Leave a Reply

