For you

I want to touch you as Oud with Basra strings and Egyptian Wood
My soul longs for you – can our love be the latest storytelling for the new generation

We find ourselves in Oum Kalthoum ensemble
I whisper a prayer to the sky for fate to be on my side

The woman in me desires you wholly
Don’t let me ask you if my love enriches you
Gesture me with your love like rain does to drought
Long for me, like the sleep that overwhelm a sun kissed worker in desert safari

I am simple, think of jasmine and you will see me busy uniting butterflies with the sun

Don’t advocate pain to win me
I’m dead when war is declared
I’m sick when blood is spread

About Samra

Poet and fundraiser for humanitarian causes. Lives in London
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

