The Capital of my heart

D75_0043

D75_0073

D75_0080

D75_0059

D75_0052

D75_0036

D75_0064

D75_0096

D75_0054

D75_0011

On the evening of Saturday 17th October, my friends and family gathered in I’klektic art lab to celebrate the publication of my poetry booklet ‘The Capital of my Heart.’

The eventful evening saw audience members read out poems from the booklet, this was followed by a short reading from myself. After the readings, Ahmed Mukhtar performed Oud to a captivated audience and I showed a short film on the work Human Appeal is currently engaged in, in Senegal.

The proceeds of the booklet go toward building water wells and providing safe drinking water to people across remote villages in Senegal. The idea to collate my poems came whilst on a field trip to Senegal as I really wanted to do my part to help. In rural areas of Senegal, clean water is scarce. The lack of clean water means local inhabitants are at an increased risk of cholera and other life-threatening diseases. There is also an urgent need for clean storage areas. Without hygienic spaces to store water, the water often becomes polluted. Through human appeal carefully selected partners on the ground, they will be providing deep water wells and constructing concrete bases to ensure the land remains clean and hygienic.

You can buy a copy of the booklet online for £10 donation which will save lives here

The booklet showcase 33 of my poems which expresses my journey from pain to healing.

Photo credit : Rooful Ali

One thought on “The Capital of my heart

Leave a comment